Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

Music by
Shirley Walker
Additional Music By
Michael McCuistion

Someone is killing off some of Gotham’s mob leaders in an eerie costume, vanishing and reappearing like a ghost and eyewitnesses insist that it is Batman. The dark knight is now in serious trouble with the police, accused of being dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted wherever he goes, Batman must solve the mystery of the Phantasm to stop the killing and regain his reputation. Meanwhile old wounds are opened as Andrea Beaumont (whom Bruce Wayne had had a serious love affair with in the past) returns to the city. Memories of the past are now preying on Bruce’s mind, memories of a time before Batman where Bruce was drawn between happiness and the promise he made to his parents. The mystery of the Phantasm is really putting Batman’s skills to the test as the police slowly draw in with no mercy. The answer to it all lies somewhere in the past of both Bruce Wayne and another deadly foe, The Joker.

Directed by
Eric Radomski
Bruce W. Timm
Kevin Altieri (sequence director)
Boyd Kirkland (sequence director)
Frank Paur (sequence director)
Dan Riba (sequence director)

Written by
Alan Burnett (screenplay and story)
Paul Dini (writer)
Bob Kane (comic book and characters)
Martin Pasko (writer)
Michael Reaves (writer)
Jerry Robinson (character: The Joker - uncredited)

Produced by
Alan Burnett (producer)
Norio Fukuda (animation producer: Spectrum Animation Studio)
Myung-Ok Jeun (animation producer: Dong Yang Animation)
Benjamin Melniker (producer)
Eric Radomski (producer)
Tom Ruegger (executive producer)
Ki-Soo Seo (animation producer: Dong Yang Animation)
Bruce W. Timm (producer)
Michael E. Uslan (executive producer)
Jung-Bum Youn (assistant producer: Dong Yang Animation)

Original Music by
Shirley Walker

Michael McCuistion (additional music)

Music Department
Harvey Cohen (orchestrations)
Robert Fernandez (music scoring mixer)
Michael McCuistion (orchestrations)
Thomas Milano (supervising music editor)
Larry Rench (orchestrations)
Lolita Ritmanis (orchestrations)
Andrea Romano (voice supervision)
Peter Tomashek (orchestrations)
Ian Walker (orchestrations)
Hans Zimmer (synthesist)
Richard Bronskill (orchestrator - uncredited)

Nominee—Annie Awards
Best Animated Film