X-Files: The Movie

Music by
Mark Snow
Orchestrated By
Lolita Ritmanis,
Jonathan Sacks,
Deborah Lurie

The X-Files is a 1998 American science fiction-thriller film written by Chris Carter and Frank Spotnitz, and directed by Rob Bowman. It is the first feature film based on The X-Files series created by Carter that revolves around a fictional FBI paranormal investigation unit called the X-Files. Four main characters from the television series appear in the film: David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson,Mitch Pileggi and William B. Davis reprise their respective roles as FBI agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully, FBI Assistant Director Walter Skinner and the Cigarette-Smoking Man. The film’s tagline and sub-title is Fight the Future.

The story follows agents Mulder (Duchovny) and Scully (Anderson), removed from their usual jobs on the X-Files, and investigating the bombing of a building and the destruction of criminal evidence. They uncover what appears to be a government conspiracy attempting to hide the truth about an alien colonization of Earth. Viewed in the context of The X-Files chronology, the film’s story takes place between seasons five (episode “The End”) and six (episode “The Beginning”) of the television series, and is based upon the series’ extraterrestrial mythology.

Directed by
Rob Bowman

Written by
Chris Carter
Frank Spotnitz

Produced by
Chris Carter
Daniel Sackheim
Mary Astadourian
Bruce Devan (uncredited)

Executive Producer
Lata Ryan

Cinematography by
Ward Russell

Film Editing by
Stephen Mark

Casting By
Meg Liberman

Production Design by
Christopher Nowak

Art Direction by
Gregory Bolton
Marc Fisichella
Hugo Santiago

Set Decoration by
Jackie Carr

Costume Design by
Marlene Stewart

Music by
Mark Snow

Orchestrated by
Lolita Ritmanis
Jonathan Sacks
Deborah Lurie

Nominee—International Film Music Critics Award (IFMCA) 1998
Best Original Score for a Horror/Thriller Film
Mark Snow

Winner—ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards 1999
Top Box Office Films
Mark Snow