Batman: The Animated Series

Music by
Shirley Walker,
Michael McCuistion,
Lolita Ritmanis,
Harvey Cohen,
Kristopher Carter

Batman: The Animated Series is an American animated series based on the DC Comics character Batman. The series featured an ensemble cast of many voice-actors including Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill, Efrem Zimbalist, Jr., Arleen Sorkin, and Loren Lester. The series won four Emmy Awards and was nominated for six others. Batman: The Animated Series, which is noted for its thematic complexity, dark subject matter, and high artistic quality, has been praised by critics and fans alike as one of the most faithful adaptations of the character. IGN has called the series the best adaptation of Batman anywhere outside of comics, the best comic book cartoon of all time, and the second best animated series of all time. It was produced by Warner Bros. Animation. The visual style of the series, dubbed “Dark Deco,” is based on the artwork of producer and artist Bruce Timm. Reruns of Batman: The Animated Series currently air on The Hub.

Created by
Bruce Timm
Erid Radomski

Based on characters created by
Bob Kane
Bill Finger (uncredited)

Supervising Composer
Shirley Walker

Principal Composers
Michael McCuistion
Lolita Ritmanis
Harvey Cohen

Kristopher Carter
Todd Hayen
Carlos Rodriguez
Carl Johnson
Stuart Balcomb
Richard Bronskill
Mark Koval
Peter Tomashek
Brian Langsbard

Winner—Primetime Emmy Awards 1993
Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming One Hour or Less)